You Are Here: Home » World » How Many Continents Are There in the World

How Many Continents Are There in the World

The Definition of a Continent
A continent is a large body of land, above water, that has a natural geological border.

How Many Continents Are There?
Depending on how you count them, there are anywhere from 4 to 7 continents. The difference of opinion arises because some people consider Europe and Asia to be one continent, some people consider North and South America to be one continent, and a few people even consider Europe, Asia, and Africa to be one huge continent called Eurafrasia.

What are the Names of the Continents?
As mentioned above, not everyone agrees on exactly how the world is divided into continents, but these are the entities you will sometimes see referred to as continents:

1. North America
2. South America
3. Europe
4. Asia
5. Africa
6. Antarctica
7. Australia (Oceania)

The total land area of all continents is 148,647,000 square kilometres (57,393,000 sq mi), or 29.1% of earth’s surface (510,065,600 square kilometres / 196,937,400 square miles).

A rough estimate of the total population of all the continents is 7,000,000,000.

Number of continents

7 continents : North America , South America , Antarctica , Africa , Europe  , Asia , Australia

6 continents : North America ,South America , Antarctica , Africa ,Eurasia , Australia

6 continents : America , Antarctica , Africa , Europe , Asia , Australia

5 continents : America , Africa , Europe , Asia , Australia

5 continents : America , Antarctica , Africa , Eurasia , Australia

4 continents : America , Antarctica ,Afro-Eurasia ,Australia

Justin Bieber – How many continents are there?

Sources: a b

Leave a Comment

two − 1 =

Copyright © 2012-2013 How Many Are There. How many are there questions and answers.

Scroll to top