You Are Here: Home » USA » How Many Time Zones Are There in The US

How Many Time Zones Are There in The US

The continental United States (meaning the 48 states on the North American continent, which excludes Hawaii and Alaska) is divided into four time zones. From east to west, they are: eastern, central, mountain, and Pacific. Each of these time zones is one hour apart, with times being successively earlier as you move west. So if it’s 3 p.m. eastern time, it’s 2 p.m. central time, 1 p.m. mountain time, and noon Pacific time.

The Alaska time zone is one hour behind Pacific time, so when it’s noon in California, it’s 11:00 a.m. in Alaska. Hawaii’s time zone for part of the year is one hour behind Alaska. Hawaii does not participate in daylight saving time, however, so during that period (from April to October), when most of the U.S. states have set their clocks forward one hour, Hawaii stays at standard time and is two hours behind Alaska.

Hawaii Time Alaska Time Pacific Time Mountain Time Central Time Eastern Time
Saturday
 2/25/2012
 12:41 am
 HST
Saturday
 2/25/2012
 1:41 am
 AKST
Saturday
 2/25/2012
 2:41 am
 PST
Saturday
 2/25/2012
 3:41 am
 MST
Saturday
 2/25/2012
 4:41 am
 CST
Saturday
 2/25/2012
 5:41 am
 EST

Sources: a b


Leave a Comment


4 − two =

Copyright © 2012-2013 How Many Are There. How many are there questions and answers.

Scroll to top