You Are Here: Home » Human » How Many Systems Are in The Human Body

How Many Systems Are in The Human Body

There are 14 systems that make up the human body.

  • The Circulatory or Cardiovascular System
    (Heart, Blood Vessels (Arteries, Capillaries, Veins).)
  • The Digestive or Gastrointestinal System
    (Mouth, Esophagus, Stomach, Small intestine, Large intestine)
  • The Endocrine or Glandular or Hormonal System
    (Hypothalamus, Pituitary, Thyroid, Parathyroids, Adrenals, Pineal body, Ovaries and Testes.)
  • The Excretory System
    (Small and Large Intestines, Rectum, and Anus)
  • The Dermal or Integumentary System
    (Skin, Hair, Nails, Sweat Glands)
  • The Muscular System
    (Muscles (Smooth, Cardiac, and Skeletal Muscles.))
  • The Nervous System
    (Brain, Spinal Cord, Nerves)
  • The Reproductive System
    Male (Penis and Testes) Female ( Vagina, Uterus, Ovaries)
  • The Respiratory or Pulmonary System
    (Nose, Pharynx, Larynx, Trachea, Bronchi, Alveoli, Bronchioles Lungs.)
  • The Skeletal System
    (Bones, Bone Marrow, Joints, Teeth, Ligaments, Cartilage)

There are 3 subsystems of the Circulatory or Cardiovascular System.

  • The Immune System
    (Bone Marrow, Thymus, Gland, Spleen, Lymph Nodes)
  • The Lymphatic System
    (Ducts and Lymph Nodes) [Palatine Tonsil, Thymus Gland]
  • The Urinary System
    (Kidneys, Gallbladder, Ureter, Urethra)

There is 1 sub-system of the Nervous System.

  • The Sensory System
    (Senses of sight, hearing, feeling, smelling, tasting, and balance)

But there are only 8 major organ systems in the body. They are: the skeletal, muscular, nervous, digestive, respiratory, cardiovascular, reproductive, and urinary systems.


Leave a Comment

1 + = five

Copyright © 2012-2013 How Many Are There. How many are there questions and answers.

Scroll to top